Writing Tips 101…

 

Let’s get to the point – I am a poor writer.  When friends find out that I contribute to an SMB blog, they usually do a double-take and ask, “say what?”  I am Jamaal Wallace in Finding Forrester where Sean Connery shoved a typewriter to the shell-shocked African-American teenager and yelled, “just freaking write!”  I would write a paragraph and instead of keep on writing, I’d go back to the same paragraph to make sure all the i’s are dotted and t’s are crossed (there, I did it again).  So for all those Jamaal Wallaces and Richard Lees out there, below are some quotes from best-selling authors and luminaries that may help you.

  • “What a writer has to do is write what hasn’t been written before or beat dead men at what they have done.” – Ernest Hemingway
  • “You have to show up.  If you show up, the creativity will show up.  If it doesn’t, I take a walk or meditate.” – Laura Benedict, author of Bliss House
  • “Tell a story.  Everyone loves stories.” – Stu Perlman, now retired 9th grade English teacher at Washington High (Fremont, CA).  A side note – I would not have gotten into college without taking and passing Stu’s English 101 class
  •  “My advice is not to wait to be struck by an idea. If you’re a writer, you sit down and damn well decide to have an idea. That’s the way to get an idea.” – Andy Rooney, ’nuff said
  • “I would not get into a car unless I Knew where I was going.” – Peter James, creator of the Roy Grace series, comparing driving to working with outlines or other forms of plotting
  • “Just write, maybe in bullet points.  It doesn’t even have to make sense in the first pass.” – Jason Busch, Group Managing Director and Chief Editor of Spend Matters and MetalMiner
  •  “Every idea is my last. I feel sure of it. So, I try to do the best with each as it comes and that’s where my responsibility ends. But I just don’t wait for ideas. I look for them. Constantly. And if I don’t use the ideas that I find, they’re going to quit showing up.” – Peg Bracken, author of humorous books on cooking, housekeeping, etiquette and travels
  • “I have a self-starter—published 20 million words—and have never received, needed or wanted a kick in the pants.” – Isaac Asimov

So which quote above resonates with you?  What’s your motivation for writing?  Mine – I suck at it, and I’d like to get better.  Not sure about getting better but since I’ve been writing for a few years, I find the process rather therapeutic…

Hope everyone’s having a great long weekend  🙂

About Richard Lee
Experienced finance and operations professional. Currently partner in five companies, adjunct professor of economics at Columbia College and executive contributor to a small business blog (www.SMBmatters.com); following corporate finance, M&A and management consulting tenures with Orbitz and Diamond Technology Partners; and six years of service with the United States Army.

Leave a Reply

